Dr. V Krishna Murthy

Professor, Mentor- Research Cambridge Institute of Technology, Bengaluru


Dr. Venkatappa Krishna Murthy obtained his BSc as well as MSc from Bangalore University in 1974 and 1977 respectively and PhD in Neurochemistry from NIMHANS in 1990. He served Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR), Bengaluru from 1978 to 2003 as its Assistant Director and Head in the Division of Occupational Hygiene of Regional Occupational Health Centre. He worked as the Ford Foundation Chair Professor, Kathmandu University, Nepal from 2003 to 2007. From 2007 to 2020, he worked at PES University (formerly PES Institute of Technology), Bengaluru as Professor of Chemistry, Dean (Evaluation), Dean (Academic Affairs), Director of Centre for Medical & Environmental Biotechnology and Registrar. He is currently working as a Mentor-Research of Cambridge Institute of Technology, Bengaluru. He has been a passionate teacher offering courses to UG, PG and Doctoral students in the areas of Chemistry, Biotechnology, Forensics, Environmental sciences, Research methodology, and Community medicine for MBBS students. He has authored 2 books, 3 book chapters and more than 130 research articles published in Journals and conferences of repute. He has supervised the theses of 12 candidates for award of PhD degree in addition to guiding about 126 UG/PG projects and completed 15 sponsored research projects. He has TWO patents, one American and one Indian patent, and registered a Trademark for PES Pebrine solution technology of which was transferred to Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology, Govt. of India. He has been a Certified Pesticide Residue Analyst of Ministry of Agriculture, Govt. of India and research project Scientific Adviser and Project proposal reviewer of International Foundation of Science (IFS) Sweden which is a Research Grant Agency. He is a recipient of SIX state as well as national awards and a life member of NINE professional bodies. He joined Cambridge Institute of Technology as Mentor-Research in March 2024.