Dr. K.N. Balasubramanya Murthy

Advisor, Cambridge Institute of Technology, KR Puram, Bengaluru


Prof K.N. Balasubramanya Murthy (commonly referred to as KNB) is currently the Advisor to Cambridge Institute of Technology, Bengaluru (since March 2024). He holds a Bachelor’s degree in Electrical Power Engineering from Malnad College of Engineering then affiliated with the University of Mysore (1980), a Master’s degree in Electrical Engineering from Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore (1986) and a Ph.D. in Computer Science and Engineering from Indian Institute of Technology – Madras, Chennai (1996). He worked as a research specialist in Parallel Computing at New Mexico State University, Las Cruces, USA between August 1998 and January 1999 on sabbatical from MCE-Hassan.

Formerly, KNB was the former Vice-Chancellor of Dayananda Sagar University (DSU), Bengaluru as well as former Vice-Chancellor of PES University and Director / Principal of PES Institute of Technology (PESIT), Bengaluru. He worked at East West Institute of Technology, Bengaluru as its Founder Director / Principal and a faculty at Malnad College of Engineering. For short periods, he worked as a faculty at SIT-Tumkur as well as JMIT-Chitradurga, as Member Technical – Grade I at Analytix Systems Private Limited and as a Software Architect at Lisle Technology Partners (India) Private Limited.

He authored more than 100 research papers in reputed journals as well as conferences and a book published by John Wiley. He has supervised 6 research scholars towards their PhD and secured funded research projects apart from filing a few patents.

He was a former member of Karnataka State Higher Education Council (KSHEC), the former Chairman of the Board for IT Education Standards (BITES) – Government of Karnataka (As the Chairman of BITES, organized 367 activities in 260 weeks during June 2017 to June 2022 i.e., 5 year term to reach out to about 29204 participants, in the form of students and faculty as well as industry professionals, at an average participation of about 79.57), the former Chairman of Ranganathan Centre for Information Studies (RCIS), Academic Senate Member of IIIT-Dharwad, Ombudsman at IIIT-Bengaluru, Academic Advisory Board (or Governing Council) member of East West Institute of Technology, KS Group of Institutions, Don Bosco Group of Institutions and Cambridge Group of Institutions. He has also served as a member of several academic committees of Visvesvaraya Technological University (VTU) – Belgaum, Academic Council member of VelTech University-Chennai, and BOG member of Sandeep University-Nashik. He has been a recognized NAAC assessor and headed several Peer Team Visits (PTVs). He has an overall experience of more than 40 years across teaching, training, research, administration and industry.

He is a recipient of
• “Mathematical Sciences: Who’s Who” as a mathematical Scientist published by Academic Forum of Taru Publications and edited by Prof. B.K.Dass, Department of Mathematics, University of Delhi in 2004 (page # 9);
• “CM Nagaraj Memorial Award – 2018” for immense contributions to the higher education sector instituted by East West Group of Institutions;
• “Special Mention of the Jury” Award for supervising a PhD thesis in Computer Science and Engineering of his student Dr. Shreekanth Prabhu selected for the award in the year 2019 by the Board for IT Education Standards (BITES) presented on February 22, 2021;
• “Citation of Honor” for outstanding contributions to education and research by ISTE – RVCE chapter presented on March 04, 2021;
• “Sadana Shrestaru” by Malnad Alumni Association, Malnad College of Engineering, Hassan on November 05, 2022; and
• “Fellowship of Karnataka Science and Technology Academy (KSTA)” for the year 2022.